Camp NaNoWriMo: Word Count Goals

Howdy, everyone.

Last night marked the first night of Camp NaNoWriMo this April and I stayed up well past 4am. This wasn’t even because I was stressing about the word count – I’ve successfully made it to just over 4,000 words (don’t fret, I didn’t do this all in one night!). It was because the excitement was too much.

I didn’t want to go to sleep. Not when there were writers all over social media spurring us all on – Twitter, Facebook, cabins – we were practically everywhere! And of course not forgetting that last night’s Virtual Write In was awesome, I think we’re off to a great start. I cannot wait to see how this April goes.

tumblr_nzehbhQ7q91tk6jjyo1_500.gif

Turns out that when you shut your brain OFF during editing mode and just concentrate on writing (amen to word sprints!) then writing comes to you a lot easier. A LOT easier. Even if half of what I’ve written so far is fairly awful and I eventually end up scrapping it, at least I have the foundations of something to grab onto, something to build on. I’m telling myself this is okay.

I pan to *hopefully* double my word count from last night today. Because how amazing would that be?

Unfortunately, my cabin is a little quiet and not as active as some folks’ in the last 24 hours, but I’m hoping that will pick up as we get going!

Right now, I’m going to have a shower, brew a cup of tea and eat some writing fuel for the day (most likely porridge). Then I’ll sit down and crack on with a bit more writing in between other bits like working from home and feeding my cats.

So if you’re doing Camp NaNo too, then good luck and please do let me know what you’re working on! I’d love to hear what everyone’s writing, whether it’s short stories, novel, poetry or scriptwriting, etc. Or if you’ve just stumbled across this blog post and have absolutely zero knowledge of what I’m talking about then, also, let me know. I’ll try and explain.

Happy writing!

7 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Word Count Goals

  1. Well done on hitting above your word goals! I’m currently at 4k and hoping to double it by tonight. I started a Peter Pan retelling about a year or so ago and have about 30,000 words of it written. It got a little too dark for me so I stopped writing it.

    Keep going, Emily!

    xx

    • Ah thank you! 8k would be a fantastic achievement only on the second day. You’ll probably be beating me! I’ve been naughty today and succumbed to procrastination by just watching New Girl for a couple hours. But I’m writing right now – woot, woot!

      And 30,000 words is amazing – well done! Maybe you can get back to it some day too!

Leave a Reply

