CAKE!

I know I may be a whole four days late, but I wanted to share the cake I made for my love interest at Valentine’s. Buying and putting the whole ingredients together, I thought it would be a complete nightmare. I had never made or even attempted a cake on so big a scale as this. Usually my range of baking consists of getting a mix and going from there. So I was super, duper, wheely squeezy proud when the cake came out looking relatively fine and hadn’t flopped!

I proceeded with the icing – which at first went badly – then after I’d got it melted and all syrup-y it went perfectly, like a dream. (Like a dream cake?) With all the Haribo love hearts on it, I can happily confirm that perhaps it really is a dream cake. At least, for children I guess you could say.

Nevertheless, my boyfriend loved it! At least he told me he did.   He’s eating a piece right now, in between chewing his headphones and typing madly away at his keyboard, probably in the mad process of hammering out another screenplay.
My Valentine’s present from him was a handmade, beautifully written comic. He likes comics and is a big nerd for them. Because he got no monies, he made me that over the course of two weeks without me knowing. A few people read it before me, and apparently they cried.
Yes, I cried too!

I think our gifts to each other really did say how much we love each other this Valentine’s. Although my present didn’t seem to shine as bright as his, despite all the shimmer spray I put on it to make it all silver shiny!

P.S
Apologies if this post made you feel slightly queasy with all the ‘love’ references. Just when you thought Valentine’s Day was over for another year!

Leave a Reply

