To Die, Or Not To Die?

I’m a writer who has a basic outline of a plan which I follow through as much as I can. But I’m a writer who never knows where her end is going. Eventually, I find it. But right now, I’m writing a story with the theme of alienation, about a man who  is gossiped about by his neighbours, whilst strange things are happening in his house. Truthfully, the house wants him dead. Odd, I know.

Right now, it’s nearing the end and he’s almost at the other end of sanity. But I don’t know whether to have him resolve the ordeal peacefully and have a somewhat happy ending, or whether to let the house ultimately get its wish so he can once again be reunited with his late wife. See, there is a happy ending in there somewhere.

Then there’s his dog too. One of the neighbours have resolved that when the man goes, the dog shall too. But killing off a dog seems too sensitive a topic to write in a short story? Surely? Especially if the man himself commits them both to suicide inside his dingy old dark living room.

I imagine him to be somewhat similar to Filch, just a little less tragic.

I’m struggling to find my ending. Have you ever stumbled over this too?
If you did, what did you do?

One thought on “To Die, Or Not To Die?

  1. Most of the time I write with the ending already set, but there are times where I do not know how to end something. When that happens, I take a step back and reflect on the message I want to bring across in the story… and from there I work my ending.

Leave a Reply

